Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Wireless Certifications

Wireless certifications are currently being offered by 5 organisations:

Planet3 Wireless offer the Certified Wireless Network Professional (
CWNP) program.

SANS offer the Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC) Assessing Wireless Networks or

OSSTMM offer the OSSTMM Wireless Security Expert (
OWSE) certification

ThinkSECURE offer the Organisational Systems Wireless Auditor (
OSWA) and Open Source Wireless Integration Security Professional (OSWISP) certifications.

Cisco offer the
Cisco Wireless LAN Specialists program.

AreTec offer the AreTec Wireless Career Certifications (
AceWP) program.

NARTE offer the
Wireless System Installers Certification program.

Certification homepage:

Planet 3 currently offer 5 vendor-neutral wireless certifications:
Wireless# an the entry-level wireless certification for the IT industry.

Certified Wireless Network Administrator (CWNA) is a foundation level wireless LAN certification for the CWNP Program.

Certified Wireless Security Professional (CWSP) designed to give you the knowledge you need to keep hackers out of your wireless network.

Certified Wireless Analysis Professional (CWAP) designed to give you the knowledge to troubleshoot and increase the performance of your wireless network.

Certified Wireless Network Expert (CWNE) designed to give you the skills to administer, install, configure, troubleshoot, and design wireless network systems including: Packet analysis, intrusion detection, performance analysis and advanced design.

Certification homepage:

SANS offer GIAC certifications for all of the major IT Security competencies and the GAWN is their Wireless Security offering. The course to accompany the certification is the GIAC Assessing Wireless Networks (SEC-617) which can be studied for with the
SANS mentor program or covered in one of their global SANS training events.

Official SANS GIAC Certification overview

"The GAWN certification is designed for technologists who need to assess the security of wireless networks. The certification focuses on the different security mechanisms for wireless networks, the tools and techniques used to evaluate and exploit weaknesses, and techniques used to analyse wireless networks." -SANS

Certification homepage:

"The OWSE certification program is designed for those who want to learn more about the various ways to technically execute a comprehensive and professional wireless security audit within the internationally recognized Open-Source Security Testing Methodology Manual (OSSTMM) framework." -OSSTMM

The OWSE certification exam is a practical examination requiring a total number of 100 responses within the 4 hour examination period.

Certification homepage:

ThinkSECURE currently offer the following vendor neutral WLAN certifications:
Organisational Systems Wireless Auditor (OSWA)

Open Source Wireless Integration Security Professional (OSWISP)
"Accredited by the international security institute ISECOM (Institute of Security & Open Methodologies), the OSWiSP™ teaches a vendor-independent approach to practical deployment, auditing and securing of both private and public Wireless Local Area Networks (WLANs) based on the PRACTICAL WIRELESS DEPLOYMENT METHODOLOGY (PWDM), a peer-reviewed, open-source methodology." -ThinkSECURE

Certification homepage:

Cisco currently offer 3 wireless certifications:
Cisco Wireless LAN Design Specialist: Associated exam: Wireless LAN for System Engineers (642-577 WLANSE)

Cisco Wireless LAN Sales Specialist designed for Cisco device resellers. Associated exam: Wireless LAN for Account Managers (646-102 WLANAM).

Cisco Wireless LAN Support Specialist: Associated exam: Wireless LAN for Field Engineers exam (642-582 WLANFE).

Certification homepage:

AreTec currently offer 4 vendor-neutral wireless certifications. All of the AreTec Certifications cover Applications Development, Wireless Telecom Carriers and Networks, Wireless Networking and Security and Wireless Embedded Systems just to an ever increasing level. In order the certifications are:
AreTec Certified Wireless Engineer (ACWE)

AreTec Certified Wireless Developer (ACWD)

AreTec Certified Wireless Architect (ACWA)

Certified AceWP Instructor (CAI): designed for ACE WP program trainers.

Certification homepage:

NARTE offer 2 wireless installer certifications both designed to certify those who install wireless LAN systems, Bluetooth, UNII devices, AVIS, and unlicensed PCS Systems:
Wireless Installer Engineer

Wireless Installer Technician


Recent Posts